Scalenut Alternative: Pricing, Plans and What to Switch To for SEO Content
Scalenut costs $59, $89 or $199 a month on monthly billing. The annual figure you were probably shown is a rotating promotion rather than a rate: it read $24, $36 and $80 a month on 1 September 2026, and $30, $45 and $100 in April. The other thing buyers miss is that every article allowance is published as a range, and the bottom of that range is what monthly billing buys.
Updated September 2026. Every Scalenut figure on this page was read from scalenut.com/pricing on 1 September 2026. Where a number is our arithmetic rather than something Scalenut publishes, the page says so in the same sentence.
Last updated September 2026
See what a finished article looks like
Give us the keyword you want to own. You get back the researched, optimized draft, not a score out of 100.
See pricing starting at $19/mo
$59
Scalenut Starter, billed monthly
5 to 10
Articles a month on Scalenut Starter
7 days
Scalenut free trial, no permanent free plan
$19
Rankable Starter, billed monthly
Scalenut alternatives: the short answer
Scalenut is a generative engine optimization platform. It plans topic clusters, drafts long-form articles in Cruise Mode, scores them against the SERP, audits pages and tracks whether AI assistants mention your brand. People go looking for an alternative for one of three reasons: the renewal came in higher than the promotional annual rate they signed up on, the article allowance turned out to be the bottom of a published range, or they wanted finished articles on the site and found they had bought a scoring workflow.
Match the replacement to whichever of those it is. If the job is on-page scoring against the SERP, Surfer and Clearscope are the closest like-for-like swaps. If it is briefs plus question research, Frase is the nearest match at $49 a month. If it is the articles themselves, researched, written, internally linked and published on a schedule, that is what Rankable does, from $19 a month. There is no single best Scalenut alternative because Scalenut sells four jobs in one subscription and almost nobody uses all four.
One thing to be straight about before you switch. Scalenut tracks AI visibility and monitors AI bots, and Rankable does not. If watching which prompts mention your brand is the reason the invoice gets approved, keep a tool that does it, and read our roundup of generative engine optimization software rather than switching to us. This page is for the buyer whose bottleneck is that the articles never get written.
Scalenut pricing and plans, side by side
Monthly list prices and the annual offer rate as it read on 1 September 2026. Article allowances are quoted as Scalenut publishes them, as a range.
Swipe to see all columns →
| Plan | Billed monthly | Annual offer, 1 Sep 2026 | Articles a month | Team members | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $59 | $24 | 5 to 10 | 1 workspace | A solo marketer testing whether the workflow fits |
| Plus | $89 | $36 | 30 to 60 | Up to 4 | A small team that also wants content audits and internal link mapping |
| Professional | $199 | $80 | 75 to 150 | Unlimited | Volume publishing plus Perplexity coverage and a dedicated CSM |
| VIP Service | Custom quote | Custom quote | Managed by their team | Not published | Handing the whole programme to strategists, writers and editors |
| Rankable | $19, $59 or $149 | Not offered, monthly only | 4, 20 or 100 | No per-seat limit published | Getting the articles researched, written and published |
Scalenut figures read from scalenut.com/pricing on 1 September 2026. The annual column is a limited-time offer, not a standing rate: the same three plans were recorded at $30, $45 and $100 a month in April 2026. Rankable figures are our own published ladder. Vendors change pricing often, so confirm on their site before you buy.
What to check before you switch away from Scalenut
Five things that decide whether an alternative is cheaper in practice or only on the pricing page.
The annual price you were quoted is a promotion, not a rate
Scalenut advertises its annual plans at 60 percent off as a limited offer, and the size of that offer moves. Reading the same page on 1 September 2026 gave $24, $36 and $80 a month; third-party write-ups from April 2026 recorded $30, $45 and $100 for the same three plans. Neither set is wrong. They are two snapshots of a rotating discount. The monthly list price of $59, $89 and $199 is the only number that has held still, so budget against that and treat any discount as a bonus you may not get at renewal.
Article allowances are published as ranges, and you get the low end
Starter is listed at 5 to 10 articles a month, Plus at 30 to 60, Professional at 75 to 150. The range exists because the annual offer doubles selected allowances, so the top of each range belongs to the annual commitment and the bottom is what monthly billing buys. If you are comparing on price per article, that distinction changes the answer completely: $59 for 5 articles is about $11.80 each, which is our arithmetic on their published figures, not a Scalenut number.
Scoring a draft and shipping a page are different purchases
This is the switch that actually matters. An optimizer tells you a draft is a 74 and lists the terms to add. Something still has to pick the keyword, write the piece, link it to the rest of the cluster and put it live. If your backlog is full of pages nobody has written yet, a better score on the drafts you already have will not clear it.
Count workspaces before seats
Scalenut gates on workspaces as well as people. Starter is a single workspace, Plus is two with up to four team members, and Professional is unlimited on both. An agency with six client brands is on Professional at $199 a month for structural reasons, not because it needs 150 articles. Work out your workspace count first, because it decides the tier more often than volume does.
What Scalenut does that we do not
Scalenut tracks AI visibility, monitors AI bots, watches Reddit and scores content for generative engines. It also sells a managed VIP service with strategists and editors on a custom quote. Rankable does none of that. We run an on-page HTML audit, not a rank tracker and not an AI visibility tracker. If those are the features on your shortlist, this is an honest no.
How to choose the replacement
Four steps that take about ten minutes and save a twelve month commitment to the wrong tool.
Write down which of the four jobs you are paying for
Cluster planning, drafting, scoring, or AI visibility tracking. Scalenut bundles them and most teams lean on one. The bundle is only good value if you genuinely use more than one, and the answer decides which alternative is even a candidate.
Price the plan you would renew on, not the one you would sign up on
Take the monthly list price of $59, $89 or $199 and assume the promotional annual rate is gone. If the tool still makes sense at that number, the discount is upside. If it only works at $24 a month, you have a problem waiting twelve months out.
Divide by the articles you will actually publish
Not the ceiling of the published range, the number you will really ship. On monthly billing that is roughly $11.80 an article on Starter, $2.97 on Plus and $2.65 on Professional, using the low end of each range. That arithmetic is ours, from their published figures, and it is the only fair way to compare tools with different allowance structures.
Check who does the publishing
This is where shortlists usually collapse. Ask whether the article ends up live on your site or in an export. With Rankable our team wires publishing up during onboarding, so the articles appear on the schedule you set rather than in a folder waiting for someone to paste them in.
Which alternative fits your situation
Solo marketer or founder doing all the writing
Scalenut Starter at $59 a month gives you 5 to 10 articles on monthly billing in a single workspace. Compare that against Rankable Starter at $19 for 4 articles, or Growth at $59 for 20. At the identical $59 the question is simply whether you would rather have 5 drafts you finish yourself or 20 articles that arrive written.
Small marketing team with an editor
Plus at $89 covers up to four people across two workspaces and adds content audits and internal link mapping. This is the tier where Scalenut is at its most competitive, because the audit and linking features are genuinely useful to a team that already writes well and needs the drafts graded rather than produced.
Agency running several client brands
The workspace limit pushes you to Professional at $199 a month regardless of volume. Worth comparing against Rankable Scale at $149, which covers 100 articles a month across 25 sites, about $1.49 an article by our arithmetic. The trade is real: you give up AI visibility tracking and the managed service to get the articles written.
A team that needs AI visibility tracking
Stay with Scalenut, or look at a dedicated tracker. This is the one use case where we are the wrong answer, because we do not measure whether ChatGPT or Perplexity mentions your brand and we are not going to pretend otherwise.
Rankable compared with Scalenut
Where each tool is genuinely stronger, including the rows where Scalenut wins outright.
Swipe to see all columns →
| What you are buying | Rankable | Scalenut |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price | $19 a month, billed monthly | $59 a month billed monthly, with a rotating promotional annual rate |
| Articles at the entry tier | 4 a month on Starter, 20 on Growth at $59 | 5 to 10 a month, depending on billing term |
| Free trial | 14 days | 7 days on the standard plans |
| Writes the article | Yes, researched and optimized | Yes, long-form assistant and Cruise Mode |
| Publishes it to your site | Yes, our team wires publishing up during onboarding | Not stated on the pricing page we read, so confirm it before you buy |
| AI visibility tracking | No | Yes, AI visibility tracker and AI bot monitoring |
| Technical audit | 147-point technical audit, 30 to 1,000 pages a month by plan | 200 to 2,000 content audit pages a month on Plus and Professional |
| Managed service | No | Yes, VIP Service on a custom quote |
| Rank tracker or backlink index | Neither | Competitor insights and backlink features are part of the platform |
Scalenut alternative questions, answered
How much does Scalenut cost?
Scalenut costs $59 a month for Starter, $89 for Plus and $199 for Professional on monthly billing. A VIP Service tier is a custom quote. Annual billing is advertised at 60 percent off as a limited offer, which read $24, $36 and $80 a month on 1 September 2026. Treat the monthly figures as the stable ones.
Is Scalenut free?
No. Scalenut has no permanent free plan. It offers a 7 day free trial on its standard plans, after which the cheapest paid option is Starter at $59 a month on monthly billing. If you are comparing entry points, Rankable Starter is $19 a month with a 14 day trial.
What is Scalenut?
Scalenut is a generative engine optimization platform that combines keyword and topic cluster research, an AI long-form writer called Cruise Mode, content scoring, page audits, internal link mapping and AI visibility tracking. It also sells a managed service where its own strategists and editors run the programme for you.
What is the best Scalenut alternative?
It depends which job you are replacing. For on-page scoring, Surfer or Clearscope. For briefs and question research, Frase at $49 a month. For getting the articles researched, written, internally linked and published, Rankable from $19 a month. For AI visibility tracking specifically, stay with a tool that measures it.
Scalenut vs Jasper: which is better for SEO content?
Scalenut is the better fit for search work because it is built around SERP data, topic clusters and content scoring. Jasper is a marketing writer priced per seat at $69 a month, strong on brand voice and campaign copy but weaker on keyword selection. For a full breakdown see our Jasper AI pricing page.
Does Scalenut have a free trial?
Yes. Scalenut offers a 7 day free trial on its standard plans, and no money-back guarantee is stated on the pricing page. That is shorter than the 14 day trial Rankable runs, which matters if you want to see a full publishing cycle before the card is charged.
Is Scalenut worth it?
It is worth it if you use more than one of the four jobs it bundles: cluster research, drafting, scoring and AI visibility tracking. If you only want one of them, a single-purpose tool is usually cheaper and better at it. The bundle is the product, so judge it on how much of the bundle you will genuinely open.
Can Scalenut publish articles directly to my website?
Scalenut's pricing page does not state direct CMS publishing, so confirm it against their integrations before you buy on that basis. It matters more than it sounds: a tool that stops at the export leaves the slowest manual step in your workflow untouched, which is usually the reason the backlog never clears.
Scoring drafts, or shipping pages?
If the backlog is full of articles nobody has written yet, a higher content score will not clear it. Rankable researches the cluster, writes the articles, links them together and publishes them on your schedule, from 19 US dollars a month.
Start with RankableNo credit card required · 14-day free trial · Cancel anytime